Time to Prepare Portfolios for Volatility’s Return?

All has been relatively quiet across global markets for some time now. Except for a few short-lived volatility flare-ups, stocks have been climbing higher in many markets. In fact, the U.S. stock market, as measured by the S&P 500®,1 was up more than 15%* for the one-year period ending June 1, 2017, while the STOXX Europe…

Goals-based Investing: A Different Approach to Managing Risk

Most clients view risk as losing assets, market volatility or underperforming the benchmark, but isn’t the more relevant risk whether or not they will reach their goals? Isn’t that what really counts? Perhaps their financial plans should be structured around those goals – and so should client discussions.

Actively Combating Portfolio Volatility

Has the relative stability of market returns in recent years lulled clients into a false sense of security about passive investing? According to institutional investors and wholesale portfolio managers (i.e., those who manage portfolios for certain insurance investment platforms, fund-of-fund solutions and third-party asset management platforms), this could be a significant issue facing individuals when…

Risk Budgeting

This video offers a fresh perspective on the function of risk in evaluating investments and constructing portfolios. From examining the relative long-term stability of risk as compared to that of returns, to establishing a risk budget, to identifying investments that can act as risk reducers or return enhancers, this video provides unique insights with practical…

Advisor Atlas: Republicans and Trump in the New Administration

SUSAN R. OLSON Vice President of Government Relations Natixis Global Asset Management — U.S. Distribution As President Trump and the Republican-controlled Congress take office, they bring the potential to generate dynamic change in many areas of the financial services industry and markets more broadly. These areas include business regulation, tax policy, and trade policy –…

Le défi en gestion de risque

Servir les clients en tenant compte de leurs émotions est une tâche ardue. Les investisseurs recherchent des rendements s’approchant des deux chiffres, mais soutiennent que s’ils devaient choisir, la sécurité l’emporterait sur le rendement. L’atteinte d’un équilibre entre le risque et le rendement est un élément clé des entretiens avec les clients. Selon notre plus récent…

Est-il temps de préparer les portefeuilles à un retour de la volatilité?

Depuis quelque temps déjà, la situation est relativement tranquille à l’échelle des marchés mondiaux. Hormis quelques brèves poussées de volatilité, les actions sont en progression sur plusieurs marchés. En fait, le marché boursier américain, tel que mesuré par l’indice S&P 500®1, a inscrit une hausse de plus de 15 %* sur 12 mois, au 1er juin 2017, tandis que…

Investissement axé sur les objectifs : une autre façon d’aborder la gestion des risques

La plupart des clients envisagent les risques en termes de perte de valeur, de volatilité du marché ou de sous-performance par rapport aux indices de référence, oubliant le risque le plus important, celui qu’ils n’atteignent pas leurs objectifs financiers. Or, n’est-ce pas ce qui compte le plus ? C’est pourquoi la planification financière des clients et…

Lutter activement contre la volatilité du portefeuille

Les clients se sont-ils laissé bercer par un faux sentiment de sécurité à l’égard de la gestion passive des placements par suite de la stabilité relative des rendements des marchés ces dernières années ? Selon les investisseurs institutionnels et les gestionnaires de portefeuille de gros (c’est-à-dire ceux qui gèrent des portefeuilles pour le compte de certaines…

Budgétisation du risque

Cette vidéo offre une nouvelle perspective à l’égard de la fonction du risque dans l’évaluation des placements et la construction des portefeuilles. En examinant la stabilité relative à long terme du risque par rapport au rendement, le processus de budgétisation du risque et la sélection de placements qui peuvent servir à réduire le risque et…

Advisor Atlas : La nouvelle administration des républicains et de Donald Trump

SUSAN R. OLSON Vice President of Government Relations Natixis Global Asset Management — U.S. Distribution Le président Donald Trump et le Congrès dirigé par les républicains ont pris les rênes du gouvernement en amenant avec eux la possibilité de changer la dynamique dans de nombreux domaines du secteur financier et des marchés plus généralement. Notamment…