Understanding the Value of Active Share

How much value does your fund manager add to your equity investments? Active Share is one tool that can help answer the question by accurately measuring how similar the securities in a fund are to its benchmark. Active Share calculates the percentage of a fund’s holdings that deviates from benchmark holdings and/or benchmark weights. In…

Goals-based Investing: A Different Approach to Managing Risk

Most clients view risk as losing assets, market volatility or underperforming the benchmark, but isn’t the more relevant risk whether or not they will reach their goals? Isn’t that what really counts? Perhaps their financial plans should be structured around those goals – and so should client discussions.

Actively Combating Portfolio Volatility

Has the relative stability of market returns in recent years lulled clients into a false sense of security about passive investing? According to institutional investors and wholesale portfolio managers (i.e., those who manage portfolios for certain insurance investment platforms, fund-of-fund solutions and third-party asset management platforms), this could be a significant issue facing individuals when…

Risk Budgeting

This video offers a fresh perspective on the function of risk in evaluating investments and constructing portfolios. From examining the relative long-term stability of risk as compared to that of returns, to establishing a risk budget, to identifying investments that can act as risk reducers or return enhancers, this video provides unique insights with practical…

Comprendre la valeur de la part active

Transcription de la vidéo en français Quelle valeur votre gestionnaire de fonds ajoute-t-il à vos placements en actions? La part active est un outil qui peut vous aider à répondre à cette question en mesurant de façon précise les similarités entre les titres d’un fonds et ceux de son indice de référence. La part active…

Investissement axé sur les objectifs : une autre façon d’aborder la gestion des risques

La plupart des clients envisagent les risques en termes de perte de valeur, de volatilité du marché ou de sous-performance par rapport aux indices de référence, oubliant le risque le plus important, celui qu’ils n’atteignent pas leurs objectifs financiers. Or, n’est-ce pas ce qui compte le plus ? C’est pourquoi la planification financière des clients et…

Lutter activement contre la volatilité du portefeuille

Les clients se sont-ils laissé bercer par un faux sentiment de sécurité à l’égard de la gestion passive des placements par suite de la stabilité relative des rendements des marchés ces dernières années ? Selon les investisseurs institutionnels et les gestionnaires de portefeuille de gros (c’est-à-dire ceux qui gèrent des portefeuilles pour le compte de certaines…

Budgétisation du risque

Cette vidéo offre une nouvelle perspective à l’égard de la fonction du risque dans l’évaluation des placements et la construction des portefeuilles. En examinant la stabilité relative à long terme du risque par rapport au rendement, le processus de budgétisation du risque et la sélection de placements qui peuvent servir à réduire le risque et…